CIO-SP3 Services and Solutions

Contract Number: HHSN316201200045W
Sponsor: National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Program Ceiling: $20 billion
Expiration Date: May 31, 2022
Prompt Payment Terms: None offered

CIO – SP3 Services and Solutions

The Department of of Health and Human Services’ (HHS), National Institutes of Health (NIH) has a requirement to provide health and biomedical-related IT services to meet scientific, administrative, operational, managerial and informational requirements.  These contracts include a full and open multiple-award CIO-SP3 indefinite delivery/indefinite quantity (ID/IQ) government-wide acquisition contract (GWAC) and a CIO-SP3 Small Business GWAC.  Each GWAC will offer a wide range of IT services, with a particular focus on health-related IT services.

These GWACS will be available for use by all Government agencies.  Services include healthcare and biomedical research IT systems, equipment, and support, and imaging systems, to include picture archiving and communication systems (PACS), outsourcing of data centers and information technology operations, integration services, IT operations and maintenance, critical infrastructure, telecommuting services, telecommunications, IT digital Government systems and services and software development.  CIO-SP3 is a recompete and reinvention of the current CIO-SP2i and the Image World (IW2nd) contracts.

The 10 task areas for this contract vehicle include:

  1. IT Services for Biomedical Research and Healthcare
  2. Chief Information Officer (CIO) Support
  3. Imaging
  4. Outsourcing
  5. IT Operations & Maintenance
  6. Integration Services
  7. Critical Infrastructure
  8. Digital Government
  9. Enterprise Management Systems
  10. Software Development

NIH CIO SP3 Statement of Work Task Area Descriptions

Task Area 1 - IT Services for Biomedical Research, Health Sciences, and Healthcare
The objective of this task area is to support Biomedical Research, Health Sciences and Healthcare by performing studies and analyses and providing operational, technical, and maintenance services for the systems, subsystems, and equipment, some of which interface with, and are extensions to, information systems throughout the federal government.

Task Area 2 - Chief Information Officer (CIO) Support
The objective of this task area is to support Chief Information Officers (CIOs) in implementing laws, regulations, and polices and to facilitate evolving CIO practices.

Task Area 3 - Imaging
This objective of this task area addresses systems and services that support the collection, storage, and retrieval of digital images. Digital images can include scanned documents, medical images, geographical information systems, video, and photographs.

Task Area 4 - Outsourcing
The objective of this task area is to provide the Information Technology (IT) infrastructure and IT services required to assume management and operations of government IT resources and IT business functions.

Task Area 5 - IT Operations and Maintenance
The objective of this task area is to support the operation and maintenance of IT systems, keeping IT systems viable with supported vendor releases or off-the-shelf applications software upgrades. Operations and maintenance on IT systems shall include all software and hardware associated with mainframes, client/server, web-based applications, and networking.

Task Area 6 - Integration Services
The objective of this task area is to support the development and deployment of integrated information systems, which includes the integration of technical components, information technology components, organizational components and documentation. Integration projects can support a wide range of agency functions. In the healthcare and research domain, medical imaging systems, patient management systems, clinical management systems, and laboratory management systems are often provided via integration of commercial components with existing infrastructure.

Task Area 7 - Critical Infrastructure Protection and Information Assurance
The objective of this task area is to support the protection of critical infrastructure, assurance of agency information, and operations that protect and defend information and information systems by ensuring confidentiality, integrity, availability, accountability, restoration, authentication, non-repudiation, protection, detection, monitoring, and event react capabilities.

Task Area 8 - Digital Government
The objective of this task area is to support government services that are provided through digital, electronic means, creating a transparent interaction between government and citizens (G2C – government-to-citizens), government and business enterprises (G2B – government-to-business enterprises) and government interagency relationships (G2G - government-to-government).

Task Area 9 - Enterprise Management Systems
The objective of this task area is to support the implementation of enterprise management applications and systems in the federal environment, which are integrated software applications used to control, monitor, and coordinate key business activities across an enterprise. These applications generally fall into the following categories: Financials, Human Resources, Logistics, Manufacturing, and Projects.

Task Area 10 - Software Development
The objective of this task area is to develop customized software applications, database applications, and other solutions not available in off-the-shelf modular software applications.